Gaddesby Gallop

The Gaddesby Gallop is a 5 1/4 mile cross country race held on a Saturday morning before Christmas.  This year, 2013, it was held on Saturday 14th December. For more details of this years event see the Gallop 2013 web page.  For latest news see our Facebook page.

It was first held in 2002 along a route between Gaddesby, Barsby and Ashby Folville – devised by Jeff Bodycott and Dave Ford.  The course was slightly lengthened the following year and officially incorporated the dew  pond – through which eventual winner John Collingham had led the first race.  The route also incorporates a length of 4′ diameter drainage pipe and a wade along a length of the Gaddesby Brook.

Past winners include Gemma Steel, now a member of the Great Britain Cross Country team, who held off Sally Newman in 2006 despite running with one stockinged foot having lost a shoe halfway round the course.

The race was revived in 2011 by Lance Shaw and Jeff Bodycott.  The winner, Mark Powell of Wigston Phoenix,  set a course record time of 30:04.  Lance and Jeff intend the race to be an annual event from now on and are looking put together a trophy with the name of all the previous winners to take pride of place in the Cheney Arms.

Gaddesby Gallop Map

Results and Reports

Gallop 2002    Gallop 2003    Gallop 2004    Gallop 2005    Gallop 2006    Gallop 2011